The Best & Worst Things About IVF & Infertility

The best thing –

It’s challenging to see an upside to infertility, but in the spirit of positivity and looking for the light in the dark, let’s give it a go. Firstly, I’m proud of myself. I don’t know if I’m any stronger, but I’m proud for all we have gone through. I’m proud that this hasn’t broken me. I feel battle weary but I’m still going.

 

Secondly, my husband and I have felt our relationship strengthen. After going through something so difficult, we feel we can survive anything. Struggling to have children can only make us better parents. We’ve had more time to prepare for parenthood. As we’ve evolved our vision for our family is clearer. We’ll appreciate a child and be so grateful for them. We’ll know how lucky we are to be blessed with a child.

 

The worst thing –

The negatives concerning IVF and infertility are endless. However, there’s one aspect that’s definitely the hardest part of the whole experience. It’s waiting! The waiting is torture, especially if you’re impatient like me.

 

I’m no stranger to the waiting game. I only ovulate naturally three times a year. I never know when it’s going to happen. Ovulation predictors don’t work for me and it’s too difficult to be medically monitored for months on end. I feel like a lady panda bear that only ovulates once a year. My conception window is almost as small as hers. Yet, this did not prepare me for the wait we endured with IVF. To say it is mentally taxing is an understatement.

 

IVF baby making comparison
A factual & funny IVF vs regular TTC meme – courtesy of Facebook

 

A notable negative mention must go to the cost of treatment. IVF is ridiculously expensive and difficult to finance. Thankfully in Australia IVF is subsidised. We pay less than half the amount our American friends pay. I don’t know how they do it. We’re very fortunate here!

 


 

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

